By Joe Young - Politics Editor

Image: Pulse Media

Diane James, Member of the European Parliament for South East England, has been elected leader of the United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP). She fended off competition from Lisa Duffy, a councillor in Cambridgeshire, Bill Etheridge, West Midlands MEP and councillor in Dudley, Elizabeth Jones, Deputy-Chair of UKIP Lambeth and member of the National Executive Committee, and Phillip Broughton, Parliamentary Candidate for the target seat of Hartlepool. The result was announced today at UKIP’s Autumn Conference in Bournemouth.

She listed her priorities as cutting migration, promoting enterprise, and turning UKIP into a “winning machine”.

About Joe Young 316 Articles
Joe Young has been involved with student media for a very long time now, holding posts within The Pulse, and Pulse Radio, as well as the predecessor of The Pulse, Pluto. He is currently Politics Editor of The Pulse, and Head of News of Pulse Radio. In 2016, he won the Media Award for Best Article for his coverage of the Fishergate Shopping Centre bomb scare.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Skip to toolbar