Election Candidates Announced

Today, UCLan Students’ Union has announced the candidates running in this year’s elections.

There are a number of positions available, including full-time paid roles for the Student Affairs Committee (SAC) and part-time voluntary roles such as Students’ Council, course reps, clubs and societies.

There have been over 300 candidates for Clubs and Societies, over 150 for Course Reps and a record breaking 85 for Council and SAC.

The candidates were released earlier today on the Students’ Union twitter page @UCLanSU.

Student Affairs Committee Candidates

President: Sam Johnson, Sana Iqbal and Bowen Perryman.

Activities and Participation Officer: Edward Evans, Emili Peake, Carolina De Almeida, Michael Ayre, Mollie Paling and Stephanie Wood.

Campaigns Officer: Chloe Knowles, Renaye Roberts-Sinclair and Ellen Simmonds

Education Officer: Audrey Chivaura, Debbie O’Connor, Tasmia Salim, Sam Winstanley and Joseph Young

Media Officer: Hannah Mason, Haydn Jeavons, Astros Yr Eggertosttir and Charlotte Bolton

Students’ Council Candidates

Council Chair: Brian O’Connor-Neil, Phoebe Dearden and David McIntyre

Liberation Reps

Womens Rep: Hajar Alsafani and Ruth Howarth
Black and Minority Ethnic Rep: Anam Riaz
Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Rep: Samantha Edwards
Transgender Rep: Ollie Nield
Disability Rep: Richard Crake

Section Reps

Environment and Ethics Rep: Leah Bradford-Thom, Naomi Fallon and Eline Malleret
Post Grad Rep: Ilyena Hirskyj-Douglas and Mashiur Chowdhury
International Rep: Razan Algharbeh, Anita Kuambana and Bhaktuben Vaidya

Open Council

Risu Ahmed, Geethma Aponsu, Fatima Awil, Aalishaa Azam, Sean Fleming, Daniel Forkin, Ibrahim Hamdi, Harrison Heath, James Hofstetter, Muhammad Mahmood, Luke Meyers, Aimee Turner and Curtis Walker

NUS Conference 2016

Delegation Candidates: Gracie Donoghue, Debbie O’Connor, Emili Peake and Joseph Young

You can find all the School President and Course Rep candidates for your school here.

Club and Society candidates are due to be released Wednesday morning, for more information follow UCLan Students’ Union twitter page.

There will be a separate Question Time for each of the full time positions in Foster Lecture Theatre 2 next Friday 4th March.

Campaigns Officer 5 p.m.
Activities and Participation Officer 5.30 p.m.
Media Office 6 p.m.
Education Officer 6.30 p.m.
President 7 p.m.

The Union will be announcing further opportunities for other candidates to debate the issues in the next few days.

Voting for the elections will open 7th March 6am and close 5pm on Friday 11th March, with election results due to be announced the same evening in at 5pm in The Atrium.

Skip to toolbar