By Joe Young - Politics Editor

Councillor Drew Gale

Town Centre ward Councillor Drew Gale has been framed in the mutiny against Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn. The Labour grassroots news website LabourList posted an open letter from over 500 (now over 600) Councillors calling on Corbyn to resign:

“As Labour councillors we support the recent call from colleagues for new leadership at the top of our party.

Jeremy Corbyn is an honourable man with a record of public service stretching back more than four decades, not least in local government.

We are drawn from a number of traditions within our movement, including those who voted for Jeremy last year.

It has now become clear, however, that he is unable to command the confidence of the whole party nor of many traditional Labour supporters we speak with on the doorstep.

Our country is facing a crisis – and the neighbourhoods we represent are on the front line. We urge Jeremy Corbyn to make way for the new leadership that our communities so desperately need.

Yours sincerely”

The website listed Cllr Gale as a signatory to the letter, but he took to Twitter to deny it:

A fellow Labour Councillor for Fishwick Ward, Martyn Rawlinson, highlighted that this had happened to a number of Councillors across the country:

LabourList later removed Gale’s name from the article, after he threatened legal action:

LabourList later added to then top of the article:

“The list below was edited when it emerged that a small minority of councillors had inadvertently given approval for the inclusion of their names by clicking on an email signature button. LabourList had no involvement in the compilation of this list.”

Sources told The Pulse that during the Labour Leadership election last year, the Preston Labour Party voted to back Corbyn, with the backing winning by a single vote.

About Joe Young 316 Articles
Joe Young has been involved with student media for a very long time now, holding posts within The Pulse, and Pulse Radio, as well as the predecessor of The Pulse, Pluto. He is currently Politics Editor of The Pulse, and Head of News of Pulse Radio. In 2016, he won the Media Award for Best Article for his coverage of the Fishergate Shopping Centre bomb scare.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Skip to toolbar