Round Up of the Emmys!



Los Angeles hosted this year’s Emmys with Andy Samberg hosting the evening as we celebrated the array of talent within TV series. The talk of the night being Game of Thrones with their record breaking 12 wins.

They managed to bag Best Drama Series Award for the first time since 2011, other awards included Best Writing, Best Direction and Best Supporting Actor for Peter Dinklage who plays Tyrion Lannister.

ABC’s How To Get Away With Murder won the award for Best Lead Actress, Viola Davis portrays a defence lawyer within the series and the role allowed her to achieve one of the best accolades of the night. Upon accepting the award she renouned “the only thing that separates women of colour from anyone else is opportunity,” as she is the first black woman to win the award.

Amazon’s Transparent which revolves around a transgender college professor won awards for the Best Directing in the comedy genre as well as an award for lead actor, Jeffrey Tambor.

After 8 attempts at capturing the award, Jon Hamm from Mad Men managed to bag Best Actor and he was overwhelmed by his achievement, ‘It’s incredible and impossible for me personally to be standing here.

HBO’s Veep also swept the awards with Julia Louis-Dreyfus winning best comedy actress for her portrayal of Selina Meyer and Tony Hale won Best Comedy Supporting Actor. They also won Comedy Writing Statuette ending Modern Family’s 5 year winning streak.

Netflix’s Orange Is The New Black bagged an award for their character ‘Crazy Eyes’ naming her the Best Comedy Support Actress.

The Latter also picked up a number of awards including  Best Mini Series, Best Lead Actor in a Mini Series, Lead Actress and supporting actor.

Surprisingly there were only four prizes to main broadcasters with the high rising quality of the TV Shows provided by streaming services such as Amazon and Netflix which may lead to a boost in subscriptions.



About Caitlin Mclaren: Editor-in-Chief 119 Articles
I like writing, editing and making new mates. Newcomer of the Year 2016 Editor of the Year 2016 Editor of the Year 2017 Elected Media Officer of UCLan Students' Union 2017/18

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Skip to toolbar