Students’ Council By-Election Winners Announced

By Joe Young - Politics Editor

After a day of voting, the winners of three by-elections to the UCLan Students’ Council have been announced.

Students’ Union old hand Emili Peake will be returning to Council for another year, this time in her role as Postgraduate Students Representative (Postgrad Rep). She had this to say,

“The election has been completely over shadowed by my last exam but I am just pleased that the role has been filled. I hope I can help improve the student experience for postgraduate students.”

Suntosh Kaur was elected School President for the School of Social Work, Care and Community, and of her victory said,

“I’m absolutely delighted to have been elected for the School President role for the School of Social Work, Care & Community. I’m grateful to all the students who took their time to vote for me. I’m also looking forward to working alongside the Course Reps, Lecturers, Senior Management Team and the SU, in order to represent and voice the opinions of the students within our School.”

Chloe Tse Ying Ng was elected School President for the School of Management, and said,

“I’m honoured to be President for the School of Management. T hope to represent all student voices within this division. I take the role with compassion and engagement, and hope to be actively involved with those whom wish to make a difference. I am beyond grateful for those who have supported and voted for me.”

The School Presidents will undertake duties across their schools including sitting on committees, liaising with Education Officer Tasmia Salim, and chairing Staff-Student Liaison Committees, which act as a way of students providing feedback to their Schools. The Postgrad Rep position exists to provide a voice to a type of student that is often forgotten by Undergraduates, which make up the majority of the Students’ Council.

The three new Student Councillors will take their roles in the summer, and the first Council meeting will take place in Autumn.

About Joe Young 316 Articles
Joe Young has been involved with student media for a very long time now, holding posts within The Pulse, and Pulse Radio, as well as the predecessor of The Pulse, Pluto. He is currently Politics Editor of The Pulse, and Head of News of Pulse Radio. In 2016, he won the Media Award for Best Article for his coverage of the Fishergate Shopping Centre bomb scare.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Skip to toolbar