World Seniors Championship comes to Preston

By Drew Darbyshire – Reporter

Preston’s Guild Hall will host the snooker World Seniors Championship for the first time later this month.

The tournament, which starts on the 30th of January and finishes the day after, is one of the only snooker competitions that brings stars of the modern game as well as previous eras together.

Amongst the 16 players to take part in the event which will be shown on Sky Sports are 1991 World Champion John Parrott, Ken Doherty and last year’s winner Mark Williams, who is currently ranked 14th in the world.

In December of last year a qualifying event was held at Robin Park in Wigan, to determine the players that would join all the former World Senior Champions and World Snooker Champions, seeded through to Preston.

There are no ranking points at stake for and only players who are 40 years old and above are eligible.

A best-of-three frames format will determine who wins a match, with a shot following the first five minutes.

Prize money for the competition totals £50,000 while the winner stands to walk away with £18,000.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Skip to toolbar